The Young African Women Congress (YAWC) Network Council has sworn into office the Global and National Chapter Leaders of the Network. The virtual event took place yesterday 21st February, 2023 at 1600hrs GMT via zoom.

The ceremony which was called to order by the Chairperson of the YAWC Network Council, Mr. Daniel Osei Tuffuor had in attendance the Global President of the Network Ms Jacqueline Nyapendi, a Ugandan national; the Global Vice President Ms Ruth Jemutai Rop, Esq, a Kenyan national; Presidents and Vice Presidents of the nine National Chapters as well as the Secretary/Treasurers and the Media Liaison Officers of the Chapters. Also in attendance were some former leaders of the Network.

The Leaders took their oath of office in turns beginning from the Global President through to the National Chapter Media Liaison Officers and it was led by the Director for Legal Bureau for ExLA Group and YAWC Network who doubles as a member of the YAWC Network Council, Mr. Osborn Freduah Agyemang, Esq.

Accepting the mandate of office on behalf of the new leadership team, the Global President of the YAWC Network Jacqueline Nyapendi expressed her profound gratitude to the outgoing leaders for their contributions to the network. She also charged the new leadership to work with diligence to make the network great.

Some leaders, chapters and members in the past administration received some awards for their dedication and commitment to the YAWC Network and the women empowerment agenda as a whole. The winners were as follows:

  1. Best National Chapter from 2020 to 2022-  Ghana Chapter
  2. Best Chapter President from 2020 to 2022- Rosaline Akweba Obah (Cameroon)
  3. Best Executive Member from 2020 to 2022- Senam Klomegah (Ghana)
  4. The Most Impactful Chapter from 2020 to 2022- Uganda Chapter
  5. YAWC Network Personality from 2020 to 2022- Gloria Dede Abiwu (Ghana)
  6. The Most Supportive Leader from 2020 to 2022- Jacqueline Nyapendi (Uganda)
  7. The Most Punctual Leader from 2020 to 2022- Uduak Akpabio (Nigeria)
  8. YAWC Ambassador for the Year-                            Carla Cornelius (Ghana)